Born on December 17, 1942 in Katsina state, Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari is a Nigerian politician who served as the military ruler of Nigeria (December 31, 1983 – August 27, 1985).

Education: He attended primary School in Daura and Mai’adua, 1948-1952 Attended Katsina Model School in 1953 and Katsina Provincial Secondary School

(now Government College Katsina) from 1956-1961.
Joined the then Nigerian Military Training School, Kaduna in 1963. Attended Officer’s Cadet School in Aldershot (United Kingdom), October 1963 Attended Platoon Commanders’ Course at the Nigerian Military College, Kaduna, 1964 Attended the Mechanical Transport Officer’s Course at the Army Mechanical Transport School in Borden (United Kingdom) 1965 Studied at the Defence Services’ Staff
College, Wellington (India), 1973 Attended the United States Army War College, June 1979 to June 1980. Professional Achievements Platoon Commander, 2nd Infantry Battalion, 1963-1964; Mechanical Transport Officer, Lagos
Garrison, 1964-1965; Transport Company Commander, 2nd Infantry Brigade, 1965-1966; Battalion Adjutant/ Commander, 2nd Infantry Brigade, 1966-1967 Brigade Major, 2nd Sector, 1st InfantryDivision, April to July, 1967
Brigade Major, 3rd Infantry Division, August 1967 – October 1968 Acting Commander, 4th Sector, 1st Division, November 1968 – February 1970 Commander, 31st Infantry Brigade, 1st
Infantry Division, February 1970 – June 1971 Assistant Adjutant-Genera l, 1st Infantry Division Headquarters, July 1971 – December 1972 Colonel, General Staff, 3rd Infantry Division Headquarters, January 1974 – September 1974
Acting Director Supply and Transport, Nigeria Army Corps Headquarters, September 1974 – July 1975 Military Governor, North Eastern State of Nigeria, August 1975 – March 1976 Federal Commissioner for Petroleum
Resources, March 1976 – June 1978 Chairman, Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, June 1978 – July 1978 Military Secretary, Army Headquarters, July 1978 – June 1979 Member, Supreme Military Council, July 1978 – June 1979 General Officer Commanding, 4th Infantry Division, August 1980 – January 1981, General Officer Commanding, 3rd Armored Division, November 1981 – December 1983 

In 1983, Major-General Buhari and Major-General Tunde Idiagbon were selected to lead the country by middle and high-ranking military officers after a successful military coup d’etat that overthrew civilian President Shehu Shagari on December.

In 1985, Buhari was himself overthrown in a coup led by General Ibrahim Babangida on August 27th, and other members of the ruling Supreme Military Council (SMC) ostensibly, because he insisted on investigating allegations of fraudulent award of contracts in the Ministry of Defence (Please refer to Gen. Chris Alli’s memoir – The Republic of Nigerian Army).

Buhari contested the Presidential election as the candidate of the All Nigeria People’s Party on 2003.

On 18th December 2006, Gen. Buhari was nominated as the consensus candidate of the All Nigeria People’s Party.

His main challenger in the 2007 April polls was the ruling PDP’s Umaru Yar’Adua, who is also from the same state – Katsina and he lost. In March 2010, Buhari left the ANPP for the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), a party that he had helped to found.

He said that he had supported foundation of the CPC “as a solution to the debilitating, ethical and ideological conflicts in my former party the ANPP”.

Buhari was the CPC Presidential candidate in the 16 April 2011 general election, running against incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP),Mallam Nuhu Ribadu of Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), and Ibrahim Shekarau of ANPP.

They were the major contenders among 20 contestants.He was running on an anti-corruption platform and pledged to remove immunity protections from government officials.He also gave support to enforcement of Sharia law in Nigeria’s northern states, which had previously caused him political difficulties among Christian voters in the country’s south.

However, he remains a “folk hero” to some for his vocal opposition to corruption.Buhari won 12,214,853 votes, coming second to the incumbent president Goodluck Jonathan of the PDP, who polled 22,495,187 votes and was declared the winner candidate.


Facebook Comments