Nigerian Artistes Dominate MAMA 2014 Nominations: Davido Takes The Lead.


    Davido has the most nominations this year with four nods for Song of the Year, Best male, Artist of the Year and Best Collaboration.  Following closely behind with 3 nominations is dynamic duo, P Square withBest Group, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year while Wizkid receives two nods for Best Male andBest Collaboration.Africa’s number one music authority, MTV Base has announced the nominees for this year’s MTV Africa Music Awards.  The announcement was made tonight, Wednesday, 16 April 2014 at an impressive nominations party at The Sands in Johannesburg, South Africa.This year’s nominations prove that Nigerian music has fast taken over Africa. Out of fifteen different categories, Nigeria has been nominated in eleven categories and includes some of the biggest names in the Nigerian entertainment industry including Omotola Jalade, Chimamanda Adichie, 2Face, PSquare, Wizkid, Burna Boy, Olamide, Flavour among many others. Other Nigerian nominees include 2Face, Burna Boy, Chidinma, Don Jazzy, Dr Sid, Flavour, Ice Prince, KCEE, May D, Olamide, Phyno and Tiwa Savage. SEE MORE AFTER CUT>>>>>>>>
    Alex Okosi, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa, “We congratulate all the nominees for the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards. This year, the MAMA offers a stunning platform for African artists, it also celebrates the young personalities, leaders and creatives who are making a positive impact on the continent.”

    Check out the Nigerian Nomination Table:

    Best Male
    Best Female
    Tiwa Savage
    Best Group
    P Square
    Best New Act
    Burna Boy
    Best Live Act
    Best Collaboration
    Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)

    Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)

    R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)
    Artist of the Year
    P Square
    Song of the Year
    Davido- ‘Skelewu’
    Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’
    KCee – ‘Limpopo’
    P Square – ‘Personally’
    Best Hip Hop
    Ice Prince
    Personality of the Year
    Chimamanda Adichie
    Omotola Jalade Ekeinde

    Transform Today by Absolut
    Clarence Peters



    Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
    Davido (Nigeria)
    Diamond (Tanzania)
    Donald (South Africa)
    Wizkid (Nigeria)

    Best Female:
    Arielle T (Gabon)
    Chidinma (Nigeria)
    DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
    Efya (Ghana)
    Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

    Best Group:
    Big Nuz (South Africa)
    Mafikizolo (South Africa)
    Mi Casa (South Africa)
    P Square (Nigeria)
    Sauti Sol (Kenya)

    Best New Act:
    Burna Boy (Nigeria)
    Heavy K (South Africa)
    Phyno (Nigeria)
    Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
    Uhuru (South Africa)

    Best Live Act:
    2face (Nigeria)
    Fally Ipupa (DRC)
    Flavour (Nigeria)
    Dr Malinga (South Africa)
    Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

    Best Collaboration:
    Amani ft. Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda)
    Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
    Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)
    R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)
    Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola)

    Artist of the Year:
    Davido (Nigeria)
    Mafikizolo (South Africa)
    Mi Casa (South Africa)
    P Square (Nigeria)
    Uhuru (South Africa)

    Song of the Year:
    Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria)
    DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa)
    DJ Ganyani feat FB – ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa)
    DJ Kent feat The Arrows –‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa)
    Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria)
    KCee – ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria)
    Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa)
    Mi Casa- ‘Jika’ (South Africa)
    P Square – ‘Personally’ (Nigeria)
    Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola)

    Best Hip Hop:
    AKA (South Africa)
    Ice Prince (Nigeria)
    Khuli Chana (South Africa)
    Olamide (Nigeria)
    Sarkodie (Ghana)

    Best Pop:
    Danny K (South Africa)
    Fuse ODG (Ghana)
    Goldfish (South Africa)
    LCNVL (South Africa)
    Mathew Mole (South Africa)

    Best Alternative:
    Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
    Michael Loman (South Africa)
    Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
    Parlotones (South Africa)
    Shortstraw (South Africa)

    Best Francophone:
    Arielle T (Gabon)
    Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
    Ferre Gola (DRC)
    Toofan (Togo)
    Youssoupha (Congo)

    Best Lusophone:
    Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
    JD (Angola)
    Lizha James (Mozambique)
    Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
    Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

    Personality of the Year:
    Chimamanda Adiche (Nigeria)
    Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Nigeria)
    Trevor Noah (South Africa)
    Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)
    Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)

    Transform Today by Absolut
    Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
    Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
    Leti Arts (Ghana)
    Rasty (South Africa)

    The MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal supported by Absolut will take place in South Africa for the first time on 7 June 2014 at the Durban International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban. The  awards will air live across the continent at 9:00PM on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV (DStv Channel 130).

    Voting for the MTV Africa Music Awards is open at from 16 April 2014 until midnight on 4 June 2014.
    Facebook Comments