Osun State Governor Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola Wins PDP’s Senator Iyiola Omisore At Election Tribunal


rauf3Osun State Governor Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola Wins At Election Tribunal , Justice Elizabeth Ipejime on Friday at the High Court in Osogbo declared Osun state governor, Rauf Aregbesola of the All Progressives Congress winner of the election tribunal. Rauf Aregbesola had defeated PDP’s Senator Iyiola Omisore during the polls with 392, 284 votes to 292, 742 votes but the results were contested by Omisore and the Peoples Democratic Party. Both Aregbesola and Omisore were absent in court but were ably represented by their party’s agents.aregbesola-omisooore

Earlier this week anxiety was already mounting in Osun State, as the election tribunal, adjudicating over petition regarding the result of August 9, 2014 governorship election in the state prepares to deliver its judgment. At the last proceedings, counsel for the petitioner and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) standard-bearer during the election, Senator Iyiola Omisore, Mr Alex Izinyon (SAN) and the first respondent (Rauf Aregbesola), Mr Akin Olujimi had adopted their final written addresses before the tribunal headed by Justice Elizabeth Ikpejime. In his submission, Olujimi urged the court to dismiss Omisore’s petition on the ground that it was incompetent because it was filed out of time.10404458_10203334908765780_7497617464105578142_nHe maintained that the petitioner did not call evidence in respect of 116 out of 142 wards, where they were challenging the results of the election.


Facebook Comments